Week Four – Run Number Eight

Yes, I skipped a running write up last Friday. It was Valentines Weekend, I hope that assures you guys enough that I had a valid excuse. No, I did not see 50 Shades of Grey, my wife has no desire to see that and it makes me love her even more.

 

Three seems like an almost insignificant number when you really think about it.  If you put it into the right context, the number three can be pretty profound.  Three happens to be the number of people that I have come into communication with since starting Deaf/Blind and Running that either have the same type of Usher Syndrome as myself or is Deaf/Blind for another reason.  Two of them are also runners, one competes in marathons and another in a world famous half-marathon in the United Kingdom.  One happens to be a husband and father of kids, just like me. All of them have expressed to me how they either have never met anybody else with Usher Syndrome or have been able to meet someone that actually understands the situation of slowly going deaf/blind.  I did not achieve this alone.  This happened because people like you, dear reader. All the sharing, commenting and talking about Usher Syndrome reaches out to people in new ways.  I’ve got three new deaf/blind friends because of you guys, I honestly can’t thank you enough for your support!  It is so great to meet new people in my situation that really understand  what it’s like to have a bad day when you have Usher Syndrome.  More importantly, we all get to talk more about the GOOD DAYS we can all share with each other.

How I envision having a running partner.

How I envision having a running partner.

Today I came to a realization with my training regimen after I bumped up my run to a 5k (3.1 miles) last week.  It doesn’t feel long enough.  My legs aren’t tired or sore at all. I recover quickly right after my whole workout is complete. This is even though I’m doing a core workout (Crunches, Push ups, Arms/shoulders) after each run. Typically, I’m more sore after my core workout than my run.  So, I’m bumping things up again, and on Wednesday I’m going to start trying out a five mile standard run.  This will put me on pace for a 10k a little sooner than I was expecting, but I’m eyeballing a race that is happening next month that is a 10k.  This would mark my first race that IS NOT a Tough Mudder or Spartan Beast.  Which probably makes my family breath a little sigh of relief that I’ll be only running on a paved surface the whole time.  Maybe I’ll turn off the track and hurdle over some bushes to liven things up.

 

Today’s run was 3.36 miles in 39:07, giving me an average per mile pace of 11:38.

This entry was posted in My Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week Four – Run Number Eight

  1. Chris Reed says:

    I am so done with the obstacle bravado races. If the race is the one you’re thinking about, I’ve done it before and the course still has lots of fun shrubbery to trip over and plenty of places the footpath gets pretty narrow.

    Like

  2. Leslie says:

    Keep your posts coming! Love hearing about your day and it is so similar to my life (thankfully I have my amazing husband)!

    Like

Leave a comment